CD Spotlight

CD: Impressions
Aardvark Jazz Orchestra CD Impressions
The new CD “IMPRESSIONS” features seven compositions by Aardvark music director Mark Harvey that Francois Couture has called “highly enjoyable . . . with convincing writing and strong performances.” (Monsieur Delire/Canada).  The music conjures up a variety of moods, emotions, and tone colors, as well as inspirations from socio-cultural events in Boston’s history, such as the struggle for desegregation of the public schools, the urban renewal fiasco of the old West End neighborhood, and the tragedy of Sacco and Vanzetti.  This exploratory music ranges from the lyrical to the Dada-esque, from the meditative to the monumental.  

Reviews of the recording are enthusiastic:

“Exceptional music”  Ken Cheetham, Jazz Views

“Strange, brooding harmonic language…beautiful playing throughout” Jon Garelick, The Artery/WBUR Radio

“It’s great music. Aardvark have an eloquence in their improvisation written inside the art of orchestration.  A pity Duke and The Count can’t hear where their great art form has gotten to.”  Steve Davis/What’s New Jazz Magazine, UK
Click Read More below for ordering information. 
Home arrow CD's arrow Psalms & Elegies (1997)
Psalms & Elegies (1997)
  This recording includes "Tiananmen Elegy," "Don Cherry's Song of Beauty" and
"Psalms" recorded live at Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival.

Here is a sampling of response to this recording:

"There's an all-pervading honesty to this music, both in its conception and execution. The latter aspect depends on the ensemble's notable precision and the strength of its soloists . . . Harvey's compositions unfold naturally and forcefully . . . the music moves with logic and momentum. Aardvark gives one hope for the future of the large jazz ensemble. This is a very fine band, and a very fine album." Cadence

"A brave and unusual venture" The Wire

"The playing is spectacular, the music is adventurous, interesting and spiritual."
Cathy Austin, KZSU-FM

Review from All Music Guide  

Product Details

Audio CD (June 14, 1997)
Original Release Date: 1997
Number of Discs: 1
Format: Import
Label: Leo
ASIN: B00000I78B

Track Listings

1. Don Cherry's Song of Beauty
2. Other Angels/Other Voices
3. Tiananmen Elegy
4. Psalms


LeoLab_028 (OGG format)
Listen to samples of all tracks at MSN Music


Aardvark Orchestra Main Performer
Arni Cheatham Flute, Sax (Alto), Sax (Soprano), Sax (Tenor)
Big John Patton French Horn
Bill Lowe Tuba
Bob Pilkington Trombone
Craig Ellis Percussion
Diana Herold Vibe Master
Donna Hewitt-Didham Vocals
Frank London Trumpet
Greg Kelley Trumpet
Harold Anderson Bass
Harry Wellott Drums
Jay Keyser Trombone
Jeanne Snodgrass Trumpet
Jeff Marsanskis Trombone (Bass)
Jerry Edwards Bass (Electric)
Jim O'Dell Tuba
Jim Whitney Bass
Joel Springer Sax (Tenor)
Ken Filiano Bass
Mark Harvey Director
Marshall Sealy French Horn
Mike Peipman Trumpet
Peter H. Bloom Flute, Sax (Alto)
Phil Scarff Clarinet, Sax (Soprano), Sax (Tenor)
Richard Nelson Guitar
Tomas Ulrich Cello
Vinny Golia Clarinet, Sax (Bass), Sax (Soprano)
Walter Thompson Sax (Alto)
© 2017 The Aardvark Jazz Orchestra Website ---
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.